Bug in OSX version

Low level MIDI support via Javascript

Bug in OSX version

Postby jt419oh » Mon Oct 13, 2014 5:47 pm

Hi,

I am using the version 1.3 on OSX. I am using it on several apps across my site. The plugin seems to crash when I leave one app, go to another, and try to select the output. It does not seem to crash when selecting the input I don't think. Sometimes chrome will issue a warning that the plugin has crashed, other times it will fail silently. A page refresh seems to work.

I tested both in FireFox, and in Chrome on OSX and they both seem to have this bug.

On my windows 8 Machine everything works as normal....

It seems when leaving the page and going to another it is not releasing the memory or something of that nature.

Thanks Sema!
jt419oh
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby sema » Mon Oct 13, 2014 7:47 pm

Can you please give more detailed instructions how to reproduce the bug?
On which pages have you seen that?

Thanks!
sema
Site Admin
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:28 pm

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby jt419oh » Mon Oct 13, 2014 10:42 pm

Hi Sema,

The site is under NDA so I cannot give links directly. The way I am producing this bug is bygoing to a page with an app on it. I select the midi input and output from two drop downs one for midi input an one for midi output, I then have a play around a bit. I then press the browsers back button, and choose a new app taking me to a new page, upon trying to select the input and output the plugin crashes. Sometimes it gives a warning, however sometimes it just fails and I have no input/output. I then have to refresh the page, and select the input/output again, and then it usually works.

I really hope that helps, and I hope to be able to share more on the site/apps. Soon.
jt419oh
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby sema » Mon Oct 13, 2014 11:30 pm

Is the plugin static in HTML, or you create it dynamically in your apps?
sema
Site Admin
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:28 pm

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby jt419oh » Tue Oct 14, 2014 1:16 am

I created it dynamically.
jt419oh
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby jt419oh » Tue Oct 14, 2014 1:21 am

It is actually being used in a GWT project. I wrote a JSNI wrapper for it. I don't know if you've. Got a proper setup to test something like this, but I would be happy to create a use case demo with the most basic setup.
jt419oh
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby jt419oh » Tue Oct 14, 2014 5:58 pm

Did some more investigating today. The error I am receiving in the developer console is "Error calling method on NPObject". This only happens on MAC computers. Windows versions do not have this problem. I am closing any input/outputs before attempting to open a new ones within my code.

Don't know if this helps at all....
jt419oh
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby sema » Tue Oct 14, 2014 7:38 pm

Does the final page where it crashes - have same URL that you previously left by pressing the Back button?
sema
Site Admin
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:28 pm

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby jt419oh » Tue Oct 14, 2014 7:55 pm

No. Each app is on its own page.

I go to one app, then press the back button, then click a link to go to a different app on a different page.

The one page just has links the apps. This is the page I always land on when pressing the back button. Then I can go to any app by pressing a link which navigates to the new page where the app sits.
jt419oh
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby jt419oh » Tue Oct 14, 2014 8:48 pm

I am getting a little more info now. I am using a custom javascript that extends the original Jazz.js file. I forgot about that, sorry.....

I am getting in the console the errors on line 56 and 111

stack: createMIDIDevice/addEventListener@http://mysite.com/js/jmb.js:56
createMIDIDevice/device.addEventListener@http://mysite.com/js/jmb.js:111

lineNumber: 56 columnNumber: 20: Error calling method on NPObject!

The adapted .js is at https://raw.githubusercontent.com/abudaan/JazzMIDIBridge/master/lib/JazzMIDIBridge.js

I have no idea what the problem is and you are certainly more familiar with the jazz plugin than I am. I am thinking it must be the adapted .js library?
jt419oh
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby jt419oh » Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:04 pm

jt419oh
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby sema » Fri Oct 17, 2014 12:31 pm

Will be looking at it.
By the way, did you contact Dan (the author of the script)?
sema
Site Admin
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:28 pm

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby jt419oh » Fri Oct 17, 2014 4:35 pm

Hi Sema,

I have not contacted Dan. Perhaps I should.... was waiting to see your input since this is only related to OSX version of the plugin. I am assuming you've not been able to recreate the bug?
jt419oh
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby jt419oh » Fri Oct 17, 2014 11:22 pm

Hi Sema,

I've spent hours doing console.log's etc.. I don't think I ever did find the problem myself... I said screw it cleared my cache and decided to get some sleep.... tried it one more time and everything is working now it seems. I swear I cleared my cache several times during this process.

I will need to do a file compare tomorrow and see what might have I might have changed, other than that I can only think the file was partially cached or something. I dunno it is quite strange.
jt419oh
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby jt419oh » Fri Oct 17, 2014 11:34 pm

I take that back... it was good while it lasted hehe. Back to it's old self now.... For Sure something wrong with the midiOpen() function whether via the javascript or not.
jt419oh
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby jt419oh » Tue Oct 28, 2014 7:43 pm

Hi Sema,

You can check this yourself now that the site is live. http://musicians-u.com
For me it happens when say I go to the piano trainer, then press the back button, then go to the piano chord trainer.

Can you confirm this is or is not happening for you as well?
jt419oh
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby sema » Wed Oct 29, 2014 6:28 pm

Looks like your server is down?
sema
Site Admin
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:28 pm

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby jt419oh » Wed Oct 29, 2014 7:33 pm

Yes it is. I had to take it down. I will message to you some details after the 1st of this coming month.
jt419oh
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby jt419oh » Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:58 pm

The board won't let me private message you. Anyway I can contact you otherwise.
jt419oh
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:49 am

Re: Bug in OSX version

Postby sema » Sat Nov 01, 2014 1:23 pm

If you want to email me you can write to sema @ this.domain
sema
Site Admin
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:28 pm

Next

Return to Jazz-Plugin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron